Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: News

AFLV Central/National Black Greek Leadership Conference Scholarship Recipients Recognized

Saturday, February 6, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Andrea Starks-Corbin


February 6, 2016



Aimee Ash, Director of Fraternal Fundraising & Development

Association of Fraternal Leadership & Values



AFLV Central/National Black Greek Leadership Conference

Scholarship Recipients Recognized


FORT COLLINS, CO. – The Association of Fraternal Leadership & Values (AFLV) is pleased to announce AFLV Central/National Black Greek Leadership Conference (AFLV Central) scholarship recipients. These students and institutions were recognized this week during the AFLV Central Affiliation Lunch. Almost 3,200 students, advisors and partners attended the conference, comprising the largest gathering of fraternity/sorority undergraduate student leaders in the country.


Mark Koepsell, Executive Director of AFLV, said “We are grateful for the continued support of organizations like Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, Delta Phi Lambda Foundation and the Sigma Kappa Foundation who support scholarships for their members and our individual donors who make these scholarships possible. This conference will provide students the tools they need to lead their campus communities.”


The following students received recognition as our 2016 AFLV Central scholarship recipients:  


Delta Phi Lambda Scholarships, sponsored by Delta Phi Lambda Foundation:

  • Le Tran, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Huanyi Zhen, Loyola University of Chicago
  • Kazoua Thao, University of North Carolina at Charlotte 

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. Scholarships, sponsored by Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.

  • Morgan Hardin, University of Houston
  • Kailynn Cummings, Western Michigan University 
  • Nephatera Dixon, Caifornia State Polytechnic University, Pomona
  • Justine Roman, John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Sigma Kappa Scholarship, sponsored by Sigma Kappa Foundation:

  • Jamie Patterson, Colorado School of Mines 

AFLV Scholarships, sponsored by fundraising efforts during previous conferences:

  • Miguel Baeza Aguilera, Sigma Lambda Beta International Fraternity, University of Nebraska-Kearney
  • Nikki McNeil, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Incorporated, Bowling Green State University
  • Emma Silvers-Harnly, Kappa Alpha Theta, University of Oregon


The Peterson award honors Mary Peterson who served as the Executive Director of the Mid-American Panhellenic Council Association, an early predecessor to AFLV, for many years. This scholarship is given to a student from an AFLV member council, which has not recently sent delegates to the conference. The Mary Peterson Scholarship recipient is:

  • Salvador Sanchez, Texas Tech University

The Explore AFLV scholarship is intended for institutions that have not previously attended AFLV Central.  This scholarship provides the opportunity to send a small delegation of students with one staff member in order to explore everything offered here. This year the EXPLORE scholarships were awarded to:

  • University of Delaware, Multicultural Greek Council 
  • Florida Gulf Coast University, Greek Council 


If your organization or business is interested in sponsoring future conference scholarship(s), please contact Aimee Ash,


# # #

 A PDF version of this release is located here.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal